United States
Joined 4579 days ago

566 posts - 814 votes 
Speaks: English*, Italian, Spanish, French
Studies: German, Latin

Message 1 of 101
22 March 2012 at 2:16am | IP Logged 
Hi everyone,

I am currently learning the French language. I find it to be very elegant and that it flows well. Of course, I'm also interested in visiting Quebec, France, Switzerland, Belgium, etc. so that adds to the appeal. Not to mention the abundance of literature and history.

Well, I started learning a few months ago at university. It wasn't until two weeks ago that I decided university was moving too slow and I really wanted to learn more.

Anyway, I have been studying for at least 45-60 minutes everyday with just Assimil, Ultimate French, and University. I recently acquired Linguaphone so that will most likely add an extra 15 minutes at least.

What I will be using:

University Classes
Assimil New French/Using French
Ultimate French Beginner-Intermediate (no audio)
Linguaphone French (1971, with audio)
Easy French Reader (when I want to take a break from actual studying or if I have free time)

and when I get to the Intermediate class at university, I'll start Colloquial French 2.

My plan is to just study and get through these books. I'd like to be finished all of these books by Fall/Spring 2013. That is when I will start going into native material and apply what I learned.

I'm going to be studying for at least an hour everyday using all of these resources and hope to reach around a solid B2 level. (Is that realistic?)

As of now, I will be starting Lesson 9 of Ultimate French tomorrow, Lesson 18 in Assimil, and continuing Lesson 1 in Linguaphone.

Edited by sillygoose1 on 19 October 2012 at 5:13pm

1 person has voted this message useful

emk
Diglot
United States
Joined 5475 days ago

2615 posts - 8806 votes 
Speaks: English*, FrenchB2
Studies: Spanish, Ancient Egyptian
Personal Language Map

Message 2 of 101
22 March 2012 at 3:23am | IP Logged 
Sounds like a great project!