jraglin
United States
Joined 4405 days ago

17 posts - 17 votes
Speaks: English*
Studies: Mandarin

Message 593 of 740
12 September 2012 at 10:17pm | IP Logged 
I just started studying Mandarin a few days ago and was wondering at what point in my
progress do you think it would be beneficial to begin watching movies in Chinese, also
are there any you recommend for beginners?
1 person has voted this message useful

leonidus
Triglot
Russian Federation
Joined 6270 days ago

113 posts - 123 votes 
Speaks: Russian*, English, French
Studies: German, Mandarin

Message 594 of 740
13 September 2012 at 12:26am | IP Logged 
jraglin wrote:
I just started studying Mandarin a few days ago and was wondering at what point in my
progress do you think it would be beneficial to begin watching movies in Chinese, also

Short answer: in 2-3 years.

Long answer: it depends on the movie and your total study time, and what you want to understand in the movies. You'd be able to understand a few simple words here and there pretty quickly, but that doesn't get you very far. To be able to understand a movie requires a lot of underlying work, and besides they often speak in the movies indistinctly, on the run, shouting, etc., that makes it even harder than understanding pre-canned dialogues or even news announcements. So don't be in a hurry to watch movies, it's not a productive way of learning for a total beginner.

Snowflake
United States
Joined 5903 days ago

1032 posts - 1233 votes 

Message 595 of 740
13 September 2012 at 3:46am | IP Logged