Joined 6172 days ago

452 posts - 468 votes 
14 sounds
Speaks: Dutch, English, German, French
Studies: Polish

Message 1 of 4
05 October 2008 at 3:46pm | IP Logged 
Hello,

I've been studying Arabic for some weeks now and I am still puzzled by emphatic consonants.

I fail to hear the difference between 'sin' and 'Sad', between 'dal' and 'Dad', etc.
I've been looking like mad for minimal pairs, but to no avail. Anyhow, if you wish to know more, please check this video in which I ask for help. I'm too tired to write more on the matter now...
1 person has voted this message useful

Topsiderunner
Diglot
United States
Joined 6848 days ago

215 posts - 218 votes 
Speaks: English*, French
Studies: Italian, Arabic (Written)

Message 2 of 4
05 October 2008 at 4:56pm | IP Logged 
I'm far from an expert, but the emphatic consonants should not only have a slightly different sound themselves, but will likely change the sound of the vowels around it.
I personally hate Al Kitaab, but its companion Alif Baa has an excellent introduction to the alphabet, with many comparisons on the CD between similar letters.

daristani
United States
Joined 7074 days ago

752 posts - 1661 votes 
Studies: Uzbek

Message 3 of 4
05 October 2008 at 5:01pm | IP Logged 
I as well think this is one of the trickiest things to learn in Arabic pronunciation, but think that once you learn to discriminate them as you hear them, it gets easier to produce them, or at least to approximate them in a way that will be comprehensible to Arabs.

Also, although I can't remember what book I read it in, velarization/emphasis is a phenomenon that tends to affect an entire syllable rather than just one letter (consonant), so you can often hear it more easily by the quality of the vowel that follows it rather than the consonant itself. Accordingly, you can win at least a part of the battle by modifying the vowel rather than focusing the entire struggle on the consonant.