zekecoma
United StatesRegistered users can see my Skype Name
Joined 5279 days ago

561 posts - 655 votes 
Speaks: English*
Studies: German, Spanish

Message 9 of 17
16 June 2010 at 7:09pm | IP Logged 
@wraith That is really interesting. I guess I am not one to think the obvious at first.
Flashcards alone will not help. But other methods like unscrambling words, etc.. I tend
to try and memorise every word I come across, because I don't always like just rushing
back to the same thing over and over. While my memory doesn't always work the way I want
(selective memory I guess you say). I'm studying the grammar and basic sentence structure
right now. Just learning the verb steming like "Ich brauchen ...." etc..

Yes, I want to become bilingual in English/German.

Edited by zekecoma on 16 June 2010 at 7:10pm

1 person has voted this message useful

NorseRonin
Pro Member
United States
youtube.com/user/NorRegistered users can see my Skype Name
Joined 5213 days ago

47 posts - 55 votes 
Studies: German, Icelandic
Personal Language Map

Message 10 of 17
18 June 2010 at 6:26am | IP Logged 
hey, just to add my 2 cents, i started learning German fairly recently as well, about 3 and a half months ago or so. it can be quite frustrating especially dealing with this so called "grammar" haha, but trust me it gets a lot better, just keep pushing (but don't fall over). to be honest i haven't actively tried to learn the plural to words yet, to me that seems to be the hardest part since even if you mess up on the gender you will always be understood, it's not so if you mess up on the plural to words. that's not to say that i don't know how to make some words plural, i just haven't tried to learn them. is there some kind of "trick" to learning them, i'm sure there's a hell of a lot of exceptions, but just a few basic guidelines should suffice.

also, i'm sure this was a typo, but the example you gave "Ich brauchen...." should be "Ich brauche...."