United Kingdom
flickr.com/photos/sg
Joined 4902 days ago

264 posts - 334 votes 
Speaks: English*
Studies: Russian, Portuguese, Mandarin, Cantonese

Message 33 of 107
02 May 2011 at 10:16pm | IP Logged 
I've just been reading your posts, they are very inspiring as I'm just starting out
learning Mandarin myself.
1 person has voted this message useful

Snowflake
United States
Joined 5902 days ago

1032 posts - 1233 votes 
Studies: Mandarin

Message 34 of 107
03 May 2011 at 12:39am | IP Logged 
Britomartis wrote:
I love CLO. I'm still at the level where they have plenty of English, but I peeked ahead and noticed that it very rapidly reduces English use. And even at the start, it has much less English than other podcasts. There was one I reviewed with just kept rambling in English unnecessarily.

The amount of English in podcasts can be pretty dismaying. I remember trying a sample podcast on one site. Half-way through I still hadn't heard any Mandarin. It turned out the entire thing was in English; They were talking about an aspect of life in the mainland. I use podcasts to hear Mandarin, not English!

Snowflake
United States
Joined 5902 days ago

1032 posts - 1233 votes 

Message 35 of 107
03 May 2011 at 12:44am | IP Logged 
Aerozeplyn, with the school term closing and the native speakers around you going home....and you don't mind hearing Christian material, check out whether your town has any Mandarin speaking churches.

aerozeplyn
United States
Joined 5091 days ago

141 posts - 202 votes 
Studies: Spanish, Mandarin

Message 36 of 107
03 May 2011 at 6:54am | IP Logged 
NickJS thank you for your kind words, i really appreciate them :) if you haven't already, you should check out irrationale's mandarin learning blog. it is very inspiring to read...and lots of good information:

http://how-to-learn-any-language.com/forum/forum_posts.asp?T ID=12024&PN=5