30 messages over 4 pages: 1 2 3 4  Next >>
osteoblast
Canada
Joined 5024 days ago

5 posts - 8 votes
Speaks: English

Message 1 of 30
04 January 2011 at 4:46am | IP Logged 
I have been studying Fusha (ancient Arabic) for the last 3 months, rougly 2-3 hours daily. Initially, I wanted to learn sentence construction (Nahw) and morphology (Sarf) to understand the Quran. I used the Madinah Books by Dr. V. Abdur Rahim (http://www.lqtoronto.com/videodl.html) along with the dvds. I have met this goal and would like to go onto speak the language.

I have also memorized the Quran and some sayings of the Prophet.

Please provide suggestions for improvement vis-a-vis my plan of learning to speak:
- I have one book from Dr. V left and hope to finish that. This will take me until mid Feb. I am more interested in understanding than speaking, since my primary goal is to be able to understand the Qur'an.
- I have also found someone who knows Fusha very well and will start speaking to me for 1 hour starting tomorrow. I hope to continue this until the end of March.
- I will be free from April - June. I plan to travel to Egypt to learn the language. I have not mapped out the details, but I am hoping to live with a family -- that can speak fusha, possibly university student, an Imam of a Masjid -- and also take one-on-one lessons. When I am in Egypt in intend on only talking in Arabic... thats my main strategy and I have some minor ones and still researching others.

I hope by the end of June I will be able to speak the language.

Thoughts??? Is it realistic, given my background and past studying to be able to speak Arabic in 3 months?

Edited by osteoblast on 04 January 2011 at 5:06am

1 person has voted this message useful

Raчraч Ŋuɲa
Triglot
New Zealand
Joined 5768 days ago

154 posts - 233 votes 
Speaks: Bikol languages*, Tagalog, EnglishC1
Studies: Spanish, Russian, Japanese

Message 2 of 30
04 January 2011 at 6:11am | IP Logged 

Edited by Raчraч Ŋuɲa on 04 January 2011 at 6:12am