Message 33 of 70
19 November 2011 at 8:52pm | IP Logged 
Arekkusu wrote:
slucido wrote:
leosmith wrote:
Cainntear wrote:
I do have a problem with it being used in the
classroom

I second this. I hate being forced to read out loud in front of a lot of other students when I'm a beginner. But
what I hate even more is listening to other beginners read out loud. By myself is ok. Alone with the teacher is
ok. But leave the classroom out of it please!

You are too shy and miss oportunities to improve.

What kind of opportunities to improve are you thinking about? What is there to learn from reading a text you
never saw before in front of an audience? Give me a few seconds with the text, let me read ahead and get
the feel of the sentence and then, maybe, I'll be able to read the sentence correctly to the class, but it doesn't
happen like that -- instead, you are asked to read ineptly a sentence you have never seen before in front of
students who have nothing to gain from hearing your pathetic, inadequate attempt. But if I'm mistaken, do tell
me what opportunity I'm missing because as far as I can tell, it's reading to the class that's a missed
opportunity.

You are missing strong emotions. For example, shame is a strong emotion.
Strong emotions = faster learning.

The problem is when you become shameless.

1 person has voted this message useful

Fasulye
Heptaglot
Winner TAC 2012
Germany
fasulyespolyglotblog
Joined 5782 days ago

5460 posts - 6006 votes 
1 sounds
Speaks: German*, DutchC1, EnglishB2, French, Italian, Spanish, Esperanto
Studies: Latin, Danish, Norwegian, Turkish
Personal Language Map

Message 34 of 70
19 November 2011 at 9:20pm | IP Logged 
I find practising to read aloud texts in a foreign language very important! I am as well in favour of pupils reading aloud in class and them getting corrected by the teacher.