https://goo.gl/126Yv
Joined 6610 days ago

1296 posts - 1781 votes 
4 sounds
Speaks: Spanish*, Catalan*
Studies: English

Message 49 of 70
22 November 2011 at 9:11pm | IP Logged 
I understand the problem with "shame" because “shame” is the essence of a great deal of our emotional disturbance. I do not like shame or other negative emotions, but I have no choice than to experience it the from time to time. It just happens.

It is important to overcome shame to improve. If we fear shame, we have a problem to improve language skills or anything. People can use approaches to take advantage of this negative feeling. There are techniques used in RECT called
“Shame-Attacking Exercises” that works with these feelings.

These exercises are a " strategy of encouraging people to do things despite a fear of feeling foolish or embarrassed. The aim of the exercise is to teach people that they can function effectively even if they might be perceived as doing foolish acts."

Here you have an article about shame in REBT and Stoicism:

Excerpt: “Shame-Attacking Exercises” from The Philosophy of CBT: Stoic Philosophy as Rational and Cognitive Psychotherapy.

http://londoncognitive.com/2010/08/30/excerpt-shame-attackin g-exercises-from-the-philosophy-of-cbt/

2 persons have voted this message useful

giuls
Italy
Joined 4953 days ago

23 posts - 31 votes
Speaks: Italian*
Studies: English, German

Message 50 of 70
22 November 2011 at 11:57pm | IP Logged 
To me shame means anxiety, how can you learn in such a state? Anxiety is good for certain things. It's good to experience fear if you're facing a lion in the savanna, but not when it comes to language learning, or learning in general.
It's not about using negative emotions as a useful tool, it's about getting rid of them, in order to feel more comfortable with the idea of being exposed and not being perfect, so that you can practice and accept criticism. You said it yourself @slucido "It is important to overcome shame to improve."