2371 posts - 3676 votes 
Speaks: English*, German
Studies: Danish, Welsh

Message 81 of 133
06 September 2012 at 9:00pm | IP Logged 
ummagumma wrote:
Funny reading your posts on Harry Potter and Lord of the Rings. I
was never a fantasy
book reader and would have never any interest in books/films with anything got to do
with
magic. I also don't watch cartoons ... until I started learning German! I'm a HP & L of
the Rings fan and watch loads of German dubbed Manga/Anime. It's a funny old world.

Well I first heard "The Hobbit" being read on BBC Radio "Children's Hour" when I was at
primary school, and it made a big impression. Later, when I was a teen and in my
twenties it became fairly cool to have read "The Lord of the Rings". Later on, I read
both to my children as bedtime stories. So Tolkien is pretty much in the blood.

I was much more skeptical of Harry Potter, and wouldn't have bothered, except that my
wife bought them, and as I say, I actually got hooked around book 4 or 5.

There is a home-grown German fantasy trilogy called "Tintenwelt". I've only read a bit,
but it's definitely on my list to come back to.

Quote:

How do you rate Fontane overall? He has been previously recommended to me by a native.
Ich interesse mich fuer deine Erfahrung. Empfehlst du ihn?

I first tried to read him ("Effie Briest") years ago, after he was mentioned with high
praise on part of an OU German course I was doing. I really wasn't ready to read such
books, but I plugged away and somehow got through it, no doubt missing a lot. I also
saw the film version made by Rainer Werner Fassbinder - sehr sehenswürdig, darf ich
sagen.

Over the years, I bought the occasional additional Fontane novel, and slowly plugged
away at them. It's only in the last 2 or 3 years that I would say I've really begun to
get into them properly. Finding an audiobook version of Effi Briest on Librivox last
year was great, and learning about L-R at around the same time also helped a lot.