United States
languagewanderlust.c
Joined 4902 days ago

62 posts - 68 votes 
Speaks: Spanish*, English*
Studies: German, Russian, Czech, Polish

Message 26 of 86
23 December 2012 at 3:07am | IP Logged 
My language plans for the year 2013 are going to be preparation for a future goal I have in mind, to get a doctorates.
Currently I am in the progress of getting my BA in Linguistics --I plan to finish in Fall 2013-- but I have plans to
enter a PhD program in either Linguistics or Slavic linguistics. The latter requires that I am proficient in one Slavic
language--for this I will be focusing on Russian, a good handle in another Slavic language--for this I am going to
focus on Polish, and lastly have reading knowledge in German and French.

Now I have been studying all of these languages on and off for the last 4 years, but have never achieved proficiency in
any of them. German was the closest.

In order of strongest to weakest my skills are as follow: German, French, Russian, and Polish.
In order of importance for my future goal: Russian, Polish, German, and French.

I plan to enter the PhD program by Fall 2014 or 2015, so I really have to dedicate time in becoming useful in those
languages--Russian being the most important. I plan to study three languages in 2013 (Russian, Polish, and German).
Would you guys think that it is possible to have a very good handle of these languages by Summer 2014? I would rate
my German level in the B1-low B2 range, Russian before B2 now high A2, Polish A1.

How many hours of studying (approximately) would one need to spend to get from A2 to C1?
1 person has voted this message useful

outcast
Bilingual Heptaglot
China
Joined 4788 days ago

869 posts - 1364 votes 
Speaks: Spanish*, English*, German, Italian, French, Portuguese, Mandarin
Studies: Korean

Message 27 of 86
23 December 2012 at 4:25am | IP Logged 
My goals are simple, but challenging:

Goal 1: French/German/Portuguese C1+ level in all three