Language Learning Forum : General discussion Post Reply
134 messages over 17 pages: << Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 ... 13 ... 16 17 Next >>
hrhenry
Octoglot
United States
languagehopper.blogs
Joined 4969 days ago

1871 posts - 3642 votes 
Speaks: English*, SpanishC2, ItalianC2, Norwegian, Catalan, Galician, Turkish, Portuguese
Studies: Polish, Indonesian, Ojibwe

Message 97 of 134
26 May 2014 at 7:15am | IP Logged 
1e4e6 wrote:
Well Mandarin actually is not very difficult
I started French and Mandarin at age 13, and my perception is that Mandarin was easier
than French.
But until intermediate/high-intermediate, it really did not seem as difficult as others
purport it to be. When I studied it, I could pronounce Mandarin with more flow and ease
than French...

And yet I notice you don't have Mandarin listed in your spoken languages, but you have
listed French. There must be a reason for that, right?

From my perspective, I studied Turkish - another language many deem to be easy -
solidly for three years before I decided to take the B2 level exams. It still took me
another year to move it from "Studying" to "Speaks" here on HTLAL, even after having
passed the exams. It's taken me that long to really consider that I can speak it with
relative ease.

I can't speak for Mandarin, but I can certainly say that once you get at or above a
high intermediate level in Turkish, it's far from easy.

I think that the level of ease in learning any language is relative. I think if you are
consistent in studying and getting exposure, an A2 or B1 level (even B2) is quite
doable in any language, regardless of how difficult it's perceived to be.

R.
==
1 person has voted this message useful

1e4e6
Octoglot
United Kingdom
Joined 4129 days ago

1013 posts - 1588 votes 
Speaks: English*, French, Spanish, Portuguese, Norwegian, Dutch, Swedish, Italian
Studies: German, Danish, Russian, Catalan

Message 98 of 134
26 May 2014 at 7:43am | IP Logged