Joined 4725 days ago

1181 posts - 1912 votes 
Speaks: German*, EnglishC2, Korean
Studies: Persian

Message 17 of 32
04 November 2011 at 10:01pm | IP Logged 
Day ۴.

Song of the day: جستجوی سرنوشت by گلشیفته فراهانی
I now understand one line from the song: دختر زیبا = beautiful girl. :)

Today I studied lesson 19 of easypersian.com.

I learned objective pronouns and the numbers from ۱۱ to ۲۰.

I also did some more writing exercises with my new book. There are still some letters that I don't quite remember all the written forms of, but it's getting better. Cleared up my confusion between خ and ج

And listened to some more BBC Persian, just for getting used to how the spoken language sounds.

I now have a vocabulary base of 116 words. As usual I have trouble memorizing the verbs. Learning vocabulary will likely take up more and more of my study time, the more words I add to it.
1 person has voted this message useful

druckfehler
Triglot
Germany
Joined 4725 days ago

1181 posts - 1912 votes 

Message 18 of 32
06 November 2011 at 12:22am | IP Logged 
روز ۵

Song of the day: دختر ایرونی by اندی

Today I studied lesson 20 of easypersian.com.

I learned how to make plurals of nouns and how to use possessive pronouns in plural.

I also studied vocabulary (of course) and a lot of words have sunk in already. I'm surprised that I can add around 20 words per day and actually manage to learn them.

Because I made my Anki vocabulary cards in Persian and Korean, I'm sometimes noticing interesting coincidences where the two languages have similar words. The most striking so far is Korean 지르다 (djireda) and Persian جیغ زدن (djigh zadan), which both mean "to scream". There are a couple of other words that use similar consonsant or vowels and I'm wondering if there has been any mutual linguistic influence. But then again, it might really just be some random overlaps.