Groupie
Malaysia
Joined 6179 days ago

89 posts - 98 votes 
Speaks: EnglishC2*, Malay*
Studies: French, Japanese

Message 9 of 65
15 November 2007 at 9:11am | IP Logged 
I was hoping for a bit of an explanation on the nuances of よ and ね in the 頑張って context, but you had already put out the answer before I managed to lay down the question, :)

ありがとう、からしーせんぱい!

Either way, after 6 hours (with about an hour of break in-between) I have finally managed to extract all words that had been used in Japanese in Mangaland 1. Realistically speaking, the amount of words I know by now is roughly the number in that collection; which puts me at about 1000 words or so after about two months of moderate studying, so it's not bad. (I began my Japanese studies about 6 months ago, but I studied the language very sparsely for 2 or 3 months out of that time span as I had much work to attend to; I regret the time lost, so now that I have about a month's worth of free time I am doing all I can to catch up on what I've missed.)

I'm off to read one chapter of Tae Kim's guide, as I promised to myself. I intend to practice my vocabulary list starting tomorrow.

Plans for the next week or so: I'm going to revise at least 200 kanji a day. (Those kanji that I fail will not be counted as being part of that 200.) As vocabulary is much simpler and less tiring, I will tackle them not according to a set amount, but rather, per session. (I will devote 1-hour to each vocabulary session; and maybe 2 vocabulary sessions per day.) And lastly, 2-3 hours of grammatical studies per day. (Tomorrow I will revise Japanese in Mangaland 1 entirely, and only the day after shall I move on to Part 2.) Also, I will read at least 1-2 chapters of Tae Kim per day, and peruse whatever time I have remaining watching/reading Japanese-related entertainment :P

My aim as of now:

To attain and possess a very good understanding of Japanese by the end of 30 days of intense study.