Diglot
Norway
Joined 5852 days ago

791 posts - 1053 votes 
Speaks: Norwegian*, English
Studies: Japanese

Message 105 of 182
17 November 2009 at 10:43pm | IP Logged 
I think you can sort of measure progress, perhaps imperfectly, by watching how things that were initially challenging become gradually less difficult to understand, until you eventually understand them effortlessly. When I started learning Italian I found an interview on Youtube that I really wanted to understand but couldn't, then watched it every once in a while to see how much more of it I could grasp each time. It's quite motivational to see your natural understanding increase that way. It might not be quantifiable, but that's ok, it doesn't have to be, but you can still have something that shows you your own progress in terms you can relate to. A lot of the time we can make huge progress and not even realize it, until at some point you stop and think, "hang on, there's no way I would've been able to understand this x months ago", then that's how you know. It can help to have something concrete that you can keep measuring though, as a goal of sorts.

On the exposure vs grammar issue: I think there's a big difference between learning your first-ish foreign language mostly by exposure vs studying a new language that way after significant study of grammatical concepts in other languages previously. The more languages you've wrestled with, the less you need things spelled out to you in a new and unfamiliar language, so concepts can take form in the correct way from exposure with very little need for explicit grammatical study. Everyone has their preferences of course, but lack of grammar study is a long way away from lack of grammar learning - I guess everyone finds what suits their learning style.

Liz
2 persons have voted this message useful

numerodix
Trilingual Hexaglot
Netherlands
Joined 6726 days ago

856 posts - 1226 votes 
Speaks: EnglishC2*, Norwegian*, Polish*, Italian, Dutch, French