Diglot
Netherlands
Joined 5585 days ago

410 posts - 482 votes 
Speaks: English*, DutchC1
Studies: Turkish, French

Message 1 of 40
27 December 2010 at 11:31pm | IP Logged 
Yay, this is my third log and second TAC year! This year I've decided to go easier on myself goal-wise. Instead of setting the goal 'be fluent in Dutch' as I have done the two previous years I'm being realistic and saying that I want to be at C2 level in 2016. 7 years after I started learning Dutch. That's definitely doable I think.

Dutch
My Dutch is at a level where I can understand most of what I hear and read but I still have a lot of trouble speaking. The speaking issue is down to lack of confidence I think so I'm shoving that to the side. Writing is something that I'd like to get more feedback on since I feel comfortable writing but I suspect I make many mistakes. My main intrinsic motivation for learning Dutch was to understand everything I come across so I'm still highly motivated by that goal and will continue to work on it.

Goals
My main aim is to read as many Dutch books as possible this year. My current goal is 12 books. I'm aiming to read novels originally written in the Dutch language but I may read a couple of non-fiction books or translations too.

Read
1) Figuranten - Arnon Grunberg
2) Nooit Meer Slapen - W F Hermans
3) Het Aapje dat Geluk Pakt - Arnon Grunberg
4) Nieuwe Buren - Saskia Noort
5) De Eetclub - Saskia Noort
6) Kaas - Willem Elsschot
7) Onmacht - Charles den Tex
8) Een Barbaar in China - Adriaan van Dis
9) Het Beloofde Land - Adriaan van Dis
10) In Afrika - Adriaan van Dis
11) Korte geschiedenis van de Nederlandse taal - J.M. van der Horst & Fred Marschall

Edited by Iolanthe on 20 October 2011 at 3:45pm

1 person has voted this message useful

ReneeMona
Diglot
Netherlands
Joined 5279 days ago

864 posts - 1274 votes 
Speaks: Dutch*, EnglishC2
Studies: French

Message 3 of 40
28 December 2010 at 2:49pm | IP Logged 
Iolanthe wrote: