1296 posts - 1781 votes 
4 sounds
Speaks: Spanish*, Catalan*
Studies: English

Message 17 of 89
23 July 2011 at 12:13am | IP Logged 
Josh Cohen wrote:
slucido wrote:
Believe me. It is quite useless to learn words and grammar rules out of context.

It's not necessarily out of context though. You have to remember (memorize) vocabulary and rules one way or another. It's basically the linkword method, which I'm assuming many people use, but with the addition of locations to sort words according to the grammar.

I don't know--I'm not an language expert--but it's a technique I'm working on.

If you are a Gran Master of Memory, I think this means enough memory training to be able to use it as great shortcut to learn languages: words and sentences.

This Gran Master of Memory degree means:

-Memorise 1,000 random digits in an hour.

-Memorise the order of 10 decks of cards in an hour.

-Memorise the order of one deck of cards in under two minutes.

My question is:

How long does it take to average people to achieve this mnemonic degree?

1 person has voted this message useful

Josh Cohen
United States
mnemotechnics.org/
Joined 4811 days ago

35 posts - 63 votes 
Speaks: English*
Studies: Portuguese, Esperanto

Message 18 of 89
23 July 2011 at 12:19am | IP Logged 
slucido wrote:

I'm not a Grandmaster--just an enthusiast who is training. I think a person could reach that level an a year or two with a lot of practice.

An ordinary person, with no previous memory ability, could easily memorize hundreds of random digits within a month or two.

slucido
Bilingual Diglot
Spain
https://goo.gl/126Yv
Joined 6610 days ago

1296 posts - 1781 votes 
4 sounds

Message 19 of 89
23 July 2011 at 11:41am | IP Logged 
Josh Cohen wrote:
slucido wrote:

I'm not a Grandmaster--just an enthusiast who is training. I think a person could reach that level an a year or two with a lot of practice.