Register  Login  Active Topics  Maps  

My Language Crisis (Relatively Speaking)

Language Learning Forum : Advice Center Post Reply
31 messages over 4 pages: 13 4  Next >>
Sprachprofi
Nonaglot
Germany
learnlangs.comRegistered users can see my Skype Name
Joined 6414 days ago

2608 posts - 4866 votes 
Speaks: German*, English, French, Esperanto, Greek, Mandarin, Latin, Dutch, Italian
Studies: Spanish, Arabic (Written), Swahili, Indonesian, Japanese, Modern Hebrew, Portuguese

Message 9 of 31
09 August 2012 at 10:59am | IP Logged 
Quote:
People seem to learn Esperanto to go to things like Esperanto congresses or club
meetings.

Not really, that's what happens afterwards (for some). I started learning Esperanto
just for linguistic curiosity and to have a better basis for learning other languages,
I wasn't even aware that anybody still spoke it! Then I used it to talk to people
online (interesting insights from Iranians, Brazilians, Japanese, Kazaks...), read
stuff and the like, for 5 years without going to any meeting. When I did go to a
meeting, a congress of ca. 300 people from 25 countries for one week over New Year's,
it was amazing. So many language geeks and world travelers in one spot! During the day
I might attend a lecture on ethnic minorities or a 60-minute introduction to some
language or other, practise languages at the aligatorejo, listen to a concert in
the evening, watch a Finnish movie with Esperanto subtitles and discuss the best way to
learn Chinese characters until late.

The Esperanto community is not all language geeks - other main streams are math geeks,
physics geeks and programmers, or people who are just interested in foreign cultures,
or idealists who are actively changing the world - but if you like languages, you can
find many like-minded people, more than anywhere else.

Quote:
Is it worth it to put in the effort to language just for fun, although the
chances are that you will not use the language?