Tetraglot
Groupie
Hungary
Joined 4843 days ago

56 posts - 165 votes 
Speaks: Hungarian*, Spanish, English, Italian

Message 17 of 27
24 February 2014 at 6:32pm | IP Logged 
I don't think I was trying to shut down anything. I contrasted some of your assertions
and opinions with my own.
Lingoleng noted that I'm in the language business, which is true. How much authority that
gives me on these issues is debatable. I studied linguistics and translation at
university and I've been in this profession for 5+ years, so I have some basic
theoretical knowledge and a good amount of practical experience. That does not make me
the ultimate judge of linguistics & translation issues, and I never claimed to be any
such thing.
5 persons have voted this message useful

emk
Diglot
United States
Joined 5475 days ago

2615 posts - 8806 votes 
Speaks: English*, FrenchB2
Studies: Spanish, Ancient Egyptian
Personal Language Map

Message 18 of 27
24 February 2014 at 7:28pm | IP Logged 
andras_farkas wrote:
If one were to use this tool for scientific research, one would obviously put the various types of texts (English original, French original) into separate databases. For language learning, this is hardly a vital issue. One tries to read texts that were originally written in the target language, but it's not a hard and fast rule.

I'm sure you know about it, but there's also a very handy online database which works on much the same principle: anguish, angoisse. We can see that most instances of "anguish" correspond to "angoisse" in French, but going in the other direction, things aren't so tidy: "angoisse" corresponds to "anguish", and "anxiety", and a bunch of other words.

Of course, to really use a database like this effectively, I need to be able to read the surrounding contexts and think about the nuances. But if I'm prepared to do that, I find that a translation database is far more precise and trustworthy than a bilingual dictionary.