24 messages over 3 pages: 1 2 3 Next >>
grunts67 Diglot Senior Member CanadaRegistered users can see my Skype Name Joined 5293 days ago 215 posts - 252 votes Speaks: French*, English Studies: Spanish, Russian
| Message 9 of 24 19 July 2010 at 7:57am | IP Logged |
feanarosurion wrote:
OK, here's the code:
<a href="#" onclick="document.getElementById('hint').style.display='bloc k';return false;">Show Hint</a>
<div id="hint" style="display: none">%(Hint)s</div>
You'll probably have to take out a space or two. Or a line break. If it's not working you can find the original here.
The code basically adds a link to the question that reveals a field from the current fact when you click it. All you have to do is add it to the question portion of card templates you want it to appear in. Now, the you change "Show Hint" to whatever you want the link to say. Show Hint is probably pretty good for that, but maybe you'll want to change it to your target language or something. Whatever works for you. Then you either add a "Hint" field to the card models you'll use this for, or you change the "Hint" fields to whatever you want the field name to be. Basically it just shows whatever field you specify. For example, here's the way I modified it from my Finnish deck:
<a id="hintlink" href="#"
onclick="document.getElementById('hint').style.display='bloc k';document.getElementById('hintlink').style.display='none'; returnfalse;">Näe Esimerkki</a><div id="hint" style="display: none">%(Esimerkki)s</div>
I just changed "Show Hint" to the Finnish for show hint, and the "Hint" to Finnish for example. That's all you need to do for this to work. Just change it to the name of the field you want to show up. Hopefully this makes sense to you haha. |
|
|
It took my some time but it's working. It seem I missed a space...
Thank again for your help
1 person has voted this message useful
| feanarosurion Senior Member Canada Joined 5272 days ago 217 posts - 316 votes Speaks: English* Studies: Finnish, Norwegian
| Message 10 of 24 19 July 2010 at 8:20am | IP Logged |
Great! I hope this really helps to make Anki a good study tool for you!
1 person has voted this message useful
| Leivo Tetraglot Newbie Finland Joined 5200 days ago 2 posts - 2 votes Speaks: Finnish*, French, English, Swedish Studies: German, Hungarian
| Message 11 of 24 29 August 2010 at 7:25pm | IP Logged |
feanarosurion wrote:
OK, here's the code:
<a href="#" onclick="document.getElementById('hint').style.display='bloc k';return false;">Show Hint</a>
<div id="hint" style="display: none">%(Hint)s</div>
You'll probably have to take out a space or two. Or a line break. If it's not working you can find the original here.
The code basically adds a link to the question that reveals a field from the current fact when you click it. All you have to do is add it to the question portion of card templates you want it to appear in. |
|
|
I know I'm coming over a month later and am not the original poster, but would nevertheless appreciate the help, because I'd like to make my Anki deck do just this, but... where am I supposed to put that code? Probably I just missed something here, but I can't find it no matter how carefully I read the FAQ etc. Maybe I'm being computer-dyslexic or something, but I would appreciate it hugely if someone could tell me where I'm supposed to copy-paste this code if I want to do this. Also, am I doing something wrong when, adding the exampe field to my deck, the examples don't show up at all when I'm reviewing (except if I go to edit the card) rather than needing to be hidden by this code?
1 person has voted this message useful
| feanarosurion Senior Member Canada Joined 5272 days ago 217 posts - 316 votes Speaks: English* Studies: Finnish, Norwegian
| Message 12 of 24 29 August 2010 at 9:12pm | IP Logged |
Oh, no problem. You have to actually manually add it to all your card templates. You do this by going into deck properties, then click edit. Then you go into the second tab, and you add it into the specific card template. The name of your example field needs to be exactly what is in the code for it to show up. And you're not doing anything wrong, you just haven't told your deck to show it in your cards. You add it on that second tab as well. You'd add it under the question field in both cases if you wanted them to show up. Hope this helps!
1 person has voted this message useful
| michaelmichael Senior Member Canada Joined 5248 days ago 167 posts - 202 votes Speaks: English* Studies: French
| Message 13 of 24 29 August 2010 at 10:15pm | IP Logged |
adding sound, and the IPA phonetics helps. 3 ways the brain remembers things is by association, repetition and emotional response. The IPA phonetics combined with the sound, allows you to make more associations than just spelling/definitions. I also use several online dictionaries to look up the word. When I type the word into the online dictionary, I do not look at the word. This is pretty important, you must have the word memorized completely with the spelling in your short term memory, not just transcribing the word while looking at it (brain dead approach in my opinion!).
here are the dictionaries I use.
http://www.wordreference.com/fren/bien
http://swac-collections.org/search.php?str=remmener&lang=fra
http://www.larousse.com/en/dictionaries/french-english/ponce r
http://fr.thefreedictionary.com/
( I have them all in tabs and i can use them pretty fast. Much faster than someone using a hardcover dictionary)
I am aware that many people use an example sentence, i would put this on a separate card and perhaps bold/underline the word if you feel this is necessary. The reason for this, is if you choose an example sentence where you can deduce/infer what the word is, you might not really know the word, or not actively anyways. When I read in french, I am pretty decent at inferring based on the sentence and article, but for me to really know a word, I must be able to recognize it in isolation. You should also take into account how fast you flip if you get it wrong, you might want to repeat the word 3 times out loud or something and at least one repetition without looking at the word.
I notice that there are 3 types of words that will give me trouble. words that are hard for me to pronounce, Words that i don't really use in English, and words that have similar spellings to other words. I think the solution for the first 2 are obvious enough, but for the third one, I might make an extra card contrasting them.
écrou/écru épanouir/évanouir for example. I hope this helps.
5 persons have voted this message useful
| Arekkusu Hexaglot Senior Member Canada bit.ly/qc_10_lec Joined 5372 days ago 3971 posts - 7747 votes Speaks: English, French*, GermanC1, Spanish, Japanese, Esperanto Studies: Italian, Norwegian, Mandarin, Romanian, Estonian
| Message 14 of 24 30 August 2010 at 4:14pm | IP Logged |
A lot of people swear by Anki or other SRS programs, so I gave it a try. I'm finding that it doesn't really work for me for a few reasons.
First of all, you need to spend quite a bit of time to get it to work just the way you want, and if you had spent all that time using the language, you'd be further ahead.
Second, I don't remember words in isolation very well; I need to use them in real life situations or take a more kinesthetic approach where I imagine myself in the situation --- Anki doesn't provide that. To be fair, though, you could tweak it to do that with sounds, sentences and pictures, etc., but it all takes time.
Lastly, words alone are not everything -- they exist in a context and with a given usage. For instance, "demander" is really "demander qqch à qqn". If you learn demander alone, you've learnt very little about the word and you wouldn't know how to use it correctly, so you've wasted your time.
Some people have suggested the use of sentences, and this is the closest Anki gets to being useful in language acquisition in my opinion, but you will still need to set it up, unless you can find ready-made decks. You could also use Anki to learn vocabulary that you have already been introduced to in a given text or context. In other words, as you learn the words, you are remembering the context you learnt them in.
1 person has voted this message useful
| michaelmichael Senior Member Canada Joined 5248 days ago 167 posts - 202 votes Speaks: English* Studies: French
| Message 15 of 24 30 August 2010 at 5:00pm | IP Logged |
Arekkusu wrote:
A lot of people swear by Anki or other SRS programs, so I gave it a try. I'm finding that it doesn't really work for me for a few reasons.
First of all, you need to spend quite a bit of time to get it to work just the way you want, and if you had spent all that time using the language, you'd be further ahead.
Second, I don't remember words in isolation very well; I need to use them in real life situations or take a more kinesthetic approach where I imagine myself in the situation --- Anki doesn't provide that. To be fair, though, you could tweak it to do that with sounds, sentences and pictures, etc., but it all takes time.
Lastly, words alone are not everything -- they exist in a context and with a given usage. For instance, "demander" is really "demander qqch à qqn". If you learn demander alone, you've learnt very little about the word and you wouldn't know how to use it correctly, so you've wasted your time.
Some people have suggested the use of sentences, and this is the closest Anki gets to being useful in language acquisition in my opinion, but you will still need to set it up, unless you can find ready-made decks. You could also use Anki to learn vocabulary that you have already been introduced to in a given text or context. In other words, as you learn the words, you are remembering the context you learnt them in. |
|
|
Most people do get the word in context, i get mine from assimil/yahoo quebec. I find anki fast. adding sound is 2 seconds, you just drag the mp3 from shtooka. I am also impressed its own recording apps. Just push F5, hit the sound from an online dictionary, and then hit space bar. I am curious of how long it takes you to set up a card, they only take a few seconds for me.
The time is not wasted either, you should have the word stored in short term memory. When you type it into shtooka, you should type the word from memory, not transcribed. If you are doing this, there is not a second wasted.
The last thing you mentioned, about transitive/intransitive and additional information ... well i guess you could always use more information, but i don't use anki to learn usage, that's what grammar books are for. In order to worry about, transitive, intransitive, if it takes a preposition if it's next to a verb, if it can be used reflexively, if it has an irregular past participle, etc......., I need to know the word first. While reading, i can noticed the neighboring elements around demander and get a sense of structure, but if i don't know what demander is, i won't have the luxury of worrying about structure.
2 persons have voted this message useful
| Arekkusu Hexaglot Senior Member Canada bit.ly/qc_10_lec Joined 5372 days ago 3971 posts - 7747 votes Speaks: English, French*, GermanC1, Spanish, Japanese, Esperanto Studies: Italian, Norwegian, Mandarin, Romanian, Estonian
| Message 16 of 24 30 August 2010 at 5:08pm | IP Logged |
michaelmichael wrote:
The last thing you mentioned, about transitive/intransitive and additional information ... well i guess you could always use more information, but i don't use anki to learn usage, that's what grammar books are for. In order to worry about, transitive, intransitive, if it takes a preposition if it's next to a verb, if it can be used reflexively, if it has an irregular past participle, etc......., I need to know the word first. While reading, i can noticed the neighboring elements around demander and get a sense of structure, but if i don't know what demander is, i won't have the luxury of worrying about structure. |
|
|
Whether "demander" needs a direct object or some preposition cannot be infered from any grammar rule -- it's part of the verb's requirement, just like "for" in needed for the English equivalent (ask for). If you want to learn to recognize the word first, and then hope to learn how to use it when you come across it in context, then fine, but why not do it all at once?
1 person has voted this message useful
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum - You cannot reply to topics in this forum - You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum - You cannot create polls in this forum - You cannot vote in polls in this forum
This page was generated in 0.3438 seconds.
DHTML Menu By Milonic JavaScript
|