jtmc18
Diglot
United States
Joined 7004 days ago

119 posts - 140 votes 
Speaks: English*, Spanish

Message 1 of 10
12 June 2008 at 7:13pm | IP Logged 
When is it time to take up a third language? I've been studying Spanish almost daily for three years now. I just returned from more than twenty weeks in Guatemala and Mexico, during most of which I took private classes. Now I'm living with a Mexican family. I speak Spanish every day and, although I still don't feel as comfortable with it as with English, I am fairly well advanced. With so many Spanish-speaking friends I am now focused primarily on regional use and not on the basic structure of the language.

And yet I am never satisfied with my Spanish. I think I want it to be perfect and get frustrated because it never is. I plan to return to Latin America for another five or six months this fall and stay with Spanish-speaking friends there. My original dream was to speak several languages but somehow I became fixated on one.

When is it time to start another language? Am I there? Have I already passed that point? Will my Spanish ever be as solid as my first language, or should I stop expecting such a moment and move on?

I have read all the warnings about studying two languages at a time. But is that essentially what I would be doing if I began another? My Spanish-speaking friends think I'm fairly proficient, and I did considerable translation work in Guatemala. And yet dinner table conversations still sometimes confound me. Where is the boundary between "studying" and "speaking" a language?

2 persons have voted this message useful

tricoteuse
Pentaglot
Norway
littlang.blogspot.co
Joined 6437 days ago

745 posts - 845 votes 
Speaks: Swedish*, Norwegian, EnglishC1, Russian, French
Studies: Ukrainian, Bulgarian

Message 2 of 10
13 June 2008 at 2:20am | IP Logged 
I think you can definitely move on to a third!