Portugal
Joined 5728 days ago

178 posts - 191 votes 
Speaks: Portuguese*, English
Studies: German, Japanese

Message 1 of 39
20 August 2008 at 1:46pm | IP Logged 
Hello everyone!

As you probably guessed, this is a Journal for my Finnish studying.

I have just started to learn it. Not quite sure what appears on my profile to the side while I'm typing (cause I can't see it), but I am studying Japanese and had started on Russian awhile back too. But unfortunately (or maybe not), Russian as been stalled, because Finnish has taken the top of my priorities now. Let me explain...

Before, I merely took Japanese and Russian as a hobbie. I love languages and just can't imagine not always being busy learning one. Well, Japanese had another reason, which I will not tell. ^^

Finnish was always a language I knew I'd eventually learn (as a hobbie or because I needed it), but now it has taken my top priority. Mainly because the person I am seeing is a native in the language and we have talked about eventually living together in Finland. Of course, that'd be in a few years time (3 or 4...), but considering my passion for languages, I figured, what the hell, just learn it now and I can enjoy the pleasure of talking to him in his own beautiful language earlier.

So here I am. I have read a bit through Uuno site (if you don't know the site, tell me and I'll get the link later... lazy to do it now...) and honestly, cases and that way of doing the negative don't scare me that much... I'm not sure where but I feel I have seen that way of doing the negative before too.

The books I currently have are the FSI Finnish Textbook, Workbook and Tapes, and I got my hands on "Finnish - An essential Grammar" (which is said to be good, but for more intermediate learning). Also have a program called Anki, which I started using for Japanese and suppose I can use for Finnish as well if necessary. Oh, and I have the Native Person to help me. ^^