Triglot
New ZealandRegistered users can see my Skype Name
Joined 5702 days ago

14 posts - 18 votes
Speaks: English*, German, Maori
Studies: French, Japanese

Message 17 of 24
18 September 2008 at 3:16pm | IP Logged 
Woah now there's some juicy questions...And I apologize if I'm being a little confusing. I'm no expert in grammar terminology and also really don't know how to address the issue of pronunciation. I'll put a guide on here when I have time. In the mean time, I think I could download some macrons as special characters, cos double vowels just look horrid!

First word for word translation of cat dialogue.
Cats like milk: He pai te miraka ki ngaa ngeru: Is good the milk to the cats
Which cats?: Ki eehea ngeru?: To which cats?
All cats: Ki ngaa ngeru katoa: To the cats all

Note; There are no verbs of to have and to be in Maori. But certain sentence starters are used when no other verb is present. These are "he" and "ko" It's a bit difficult to explain the difference, but "he" is very indefinite and "ko" is very definite.
For example-
Ko nga ngeru i roto i te toa= It is the cats who are in the shop.
He ngeru i roto i te toa= There are some cats in the shop.

Yes there is a lot of inflection in Maori, but sentences which aren't questions are quite monotonous. Inflection must be used with questions which don't have question words, to differentiate between a question and a statement, which are structurally the same. For example-
He ngeru- There are cats
He ngeru?- Are there cats?

The difference between ahau and au is nothing. You can use them interchangeably, however "ahau" tends to be used in shorter sentence, to fit rhythm, but you can only really decide which is best to use, when you develop an ear for the language.

Hmmm verbal participles, I take it you mean the things which mark present tense etc.
Because in Maori verbs don't conjugate, apart from in passive, when they add an ending.
Present tense: Kei te moe au- I am sleeping. (Lit- At the sleep I)