France
Joined 5256 days ago

483 posts - 559 votes 
Speaks: French*, English, Spanish
Studies: Russian, German

Message 145 of 204
31 December 2010 at 1:33pm | IP Logged 
dutos wrote:

Portuguese - Very Strong. I don't throw around the "fluent" tag lightly because to me, that means native or someone *who can pass as a native*.

No, that would be advanced fluency or even what they call "near-native". Basic fluency means that you're at ease with the language, that it flows.
1 person has voted this message useful

Azzurra
Triglot
Hong Kong
Joined 4897 days ago

4 posts - 4 votes
Speaks: Mandarin, Cantonese*, English
Studies: French, Italian

Message 146 of 204
01 January 2011 at 12:11pm | IP Logged 
I'm 41.

Cantonese: My mother tongue

Mandarin: Second native then got proficiency while i was studying in Taiwan for my BA degree.(I'm not good at Simplified Chinese, can read it but can't write it..not very eager to learn it anyway...)

English: In my city, every kids need to learn it since they are babies. But I was not very into it. Until one day,as a grow-up,suddenly I realised that:Oh,it seems that i can explain myself with this language.Cool! I watch BBC everyday for keeping my study vivid and active.

French: Studied it for almost 3 years at L'AF, as i was below 30. dropped it then. would like to pick it up later because i still have some good friends around who came from France.

Italian: I've been learning it 3 years ago.Be honest, it was because of my ex-BF(an Italian).I felt in love with this language since then. And now, my passion for Italian is beyond romance. will keep learning it.

My regrets:
Nepali: My parent could speak Nepali (for doing business with the Gurkha during my adolescent).i met Nepalese everyday but i never learned it.Too naive when i was young. What a shame!