United States
Joined 4823 days ago

160 posts - 253 votes 
Speaks: Spanish*, English
Studies: Finnish

Message 161 of 204
23 January 2011 at 7:07pm | IP Logged 
I'm 18. :)

Spanish: Native language. I moved to the US when I was about 3, so I never had proper Spanish schooling. I was in bilingual classes up until 3rd grade, and from 4th grade on, Spanish was never used in class. I can speak, write, and understand fluently, but my vocabulary leaves a lot to be desired. I'm hoping to improve this by writing many Spanish short stories this year.

English: My second language. It's also my best language, I'm sad to admit. Learned it since elementary, and it will be the language I study with in college, obviously. My English vocabulary puts my Spanish to shame.

Finnish: My third language, and the only language I'm learning on my own. I'm still a beginner, but I'm able to pick up words here and there in speech and in texts. I'm getting the hang of grammar, so I can recognize many suffixes. My understanding of texts is a lot better than my listening comprehension, obviously.

- Kat

Edited by Phantom Kat on 23 January 2011 at 7:07pm

1 person has voted this message useful

Sh'Naya
Diglot
Groupie
Germany
Joined 6518 days ago

48 posts - 65 votes 
Speaks: German*, English
Studies: Spanish, Japanese, French

Message 162 of 204
25 January 2011 at 6:55pm | IP Logged 
I'm 27.

German: Native language.

English: First foreign language. Started at age 9. My passive abilites are near-native like. However, I rarely speak or write.

French: Started at age 12 and dropped it 6 years later. I neither speak nor write it but can still understand some things. I guess, within a few weeks I could reach B1.

Russian: Startet at age 15 and dropped it one year later. I can read the script and say hello, bye and thanks. That's it. Nonetheless, my knowledge helped me a great deal during my travelling through Russia a few years ago because of all the loanwords.