Germany
Joined 4626 days ago

2266 posts - 3992 votes 
Speaks: German*, English, French, Latin, Italian, Russian, Swedish
Studies: Japanese, Irish, Portuguese, Persian

Message 201 of 204
25 February 2013 at 5:53pm | IP Logged 
I'm 28 years old.

German: Native tongue. My family speaks exclusively German and so did the entire environment in which I grew up. My only contact with foreign languages was restrained to some friends who had an immigrant background (mainly Italian, Turkish, or Polish) or English music on the radio.

English: I started learning English in grammar school when I was 11 years old. I already knew some phrases before, but it was only then that I started to learn the language systematically. I had nine years of English at school, but it really began to take roots when I started reading English books and watching English series and movies in the original. A three-week trip to America was my only journey to an English-speaking country, but I had many other opportunities to use my English. It's the language I know best besides German.

Latin: My second foreign language at school was Latin. I started learning it when I was 13. I had Latin classes for four years and finally passed the Latin certificate (Latinum), which is required for studying many subjects at German universities. At the end of my studies, we were translating Caesar, Ovid, and Pliny, but as I have barely used my Latin ever since I've forgotten a lot of vocabulary and inflectional paradigms. I tried to translate excerpts from Virgil's Aeneid on my own, but I never got very far.