Joined 5775 days ago

897 posts - 880 votes 
Speaks: English*, French, Spanish
Studies: German

Message 137 of 177
17 July 2009 at 11:38am | IP Logged 
DaraghM wrote:
French Problems

I was going to post this in the self study forum, but I wanted to mention a number of different issues. I've a couple of problems with French, and I'm not sure how to over come them. The root of my problems stem from the fact I studied French at school almost twenty years ago, but subsequently forgot most of the language. I can list the problems as follows,

#1 - Pronunciation. When I speak French, I seem to have some very serious fossilized pronunciation problems. Unlike my school days, I've doing massive amounts of listening over writing, and this has cleared some problems. The biggest problem is the extremely common words pour, de, deux, etc. If I encounter a completely new word, I'll pronounce it correctly, but I can't seem to unlearn the bad pronunciation of the common words.

#2 - Writing over speaking. I find it difficult to construct valid French sentences in my head when speaking, but writing seems a lot easier. On a recent grammar exercise in the Living Language course, I could do it almost on autopilot, but I'd have a hard time using the same grammar concepts in a spoken sentence. This has led me to believe the writing and speaking\listening parts of my brain are quite divorced in French.

#3. Understanding my level. I've no idea my level in French. I would rate myself as early beginner as I struggle speaking the language, but I have very few difficulties reading the language. It seems my passive vocabulary is multiples greater than my active. I don't have this large discrepancy in my other languages, though the passive is always greater than the active.

Any thoughts or ideas on addressing these issues ?

*quoted because I went over to a new page...*

My two centimes: