Triglot
United States
Joined 5543 days ago

3 posts - 4 votes
Speaks: Italian, Spanish, English*
Studies: Portuguese, Gujarati

Message 1 of 10
25 January 2009 at 12:16am | IP Logged 
I'm a full-time university student studying both Spanish and Italian at an advanced level (in an English speaking country). I grew up in a household where both languages were spoken, so I have a certain level of familiarity with them (I would not say that my level in either is on par with my English, having received no formal education at all in either before high school, and even there it was lackluster). So I'm in the midst of studying advanced grammar in both languages, learning all of the rules and tenses (things which I didn't really know about beforehand, just knowing what sounded right and sometimes was in fact wrong) - but I'd say I'm basically fluent already in both, and my comprehension is near-native.

My question is for those who have experience learning several Romance languages. I am also interested in learning French and Portuguese - and I have done some cursory research that indicates that there is an especially high lexical and structural similarity between Italian and French on the one hand, and Spanish and Portuguese on the other. I can read a text in either language - for instance, I usually understand most of a newspaper article with no prior study in either language besides taking one French 101 class.