Canada
Joined 5872 days ago

18 posts - 19 votes
Speaks: English*
Studies: French

Message 41 of 49
26 July 2009 at 9:32pm | IP Logged 
royalblue wrote:
I've heard they are very similar and I was wondering which is easier to learn. I would lean towards Danish because of its use in Greenland (A place I would like to visit someday) but if they are very similar maybe I could just learn the easier one since I'm not really a pro at languages yet.

From my understanding sweden and norway use to be the same country and the essential speak the same language but when norway seperated they wanted to be different to assert their identity so they tried to make new words.
1 person has voted this message useful

jeff_lindqvist
Diglot
SwedenRegistered users can see my Skype Name
Joined 6697 days ago

4250 posts - 5710 votes 
Speaks: Swedish*, English
Studies: German, Spanish, Russian, Dutch, Mandarin, Esperanto, Irish, French
Personal Language Map

Message 42 of 49
27 July 2009 at 12:21am | IP Logged 
I doubt that Norway had to make up new words to be different from Swedish - all languages already have their own peculiarities, no matter how related. Moreover, the Scandinavian languages is a dialect continuum, so you can't really say that the Norwegians spoke Swedish.

hakabe
Diglot
Norway
Joined 5948 days ago

8 posts - 9 votes
Speaks: Norwegian*, English
Studies: Korean

Message 43 of 49
10 August 2009 at 9:55am | IP Logged 
jeff_lindqvist wrote:
I doubt that Norway had to make up new words to be different from Swedish - all languages already have their own peculiarities, no matter how related. Moreover, the Scandinavian languages is a dialect continuum, so you can't really say that the Norwegians spoke Swedish.