royalblue
Canada
Joined 5538 days ago

2 posts - 2 votes
Speaks: English*
Studies: French

Message 1 of 49
28 January 2009 at 6:37pm | IP Logged 
I've heard they are very similar and I was wondering which is easier to learn. I would lean towards Danish because of its use in Greenland (A place I would like to visit someday) but if they are very similar maybe I could just learn the easier one since I'm not really a pro at languages yet.
1 person has voted this message useful

Frisco
Triglot
United States
Joined 6615 days ago

380 posts - 398 votes 
Speaks: English*, Spanish, Portuguese
Studies: Norwegian, Italian, Turkish, Mandarin

Message 2 of 49
28 January 2009 at 6:56pm | IP Logged 
The written forms are very similar, but the spoken forms are noticeably different. I don't want to say Danish is harder to pronounce, but it has the reputation of sounding mumbly.

Frost
United States
Joined 5562 days ago

27 posts - 26 votes
Speaks: English*
Studies: Spanish, Norwegian, Faroese, Greek

Message 3 of 49
28 January 2009 at 8:52pm | IP Logged 
They also learn Danish as a second language in the Faroe Islands. Anyway, I'm going through a similar dilemma. I love Scandinavian culture but I still have my senior year and college years ahead of me. One college I'd like to go to actually offers Norwegian as a major (not that I would, probably a minor) so I'm leaning toward Norwegian. However, the pronunciation is a bit daunting and it doesn't have a Rosetta Stone program. I know RS gets a lot of heat around here but I used it with Spanish and was very pleased. Danish does have a single installment in Rosetta Stone, while Swedish has 3! See? There's all sorts of pros and cons to each, and sometimes Icelandic is thrown in the mix too! According to the UN, Iceland is the best place to live. I look forward to reading some of the replies in this thread.

maya_star17
Bilingual Tetraglot
Canada
Joined 5674 days ago

269 posts - 291 votes 
Speaks: English*, Russian*, French, Spanish