Register  Login  Active Topics  Maps  

Which Germanic languages, in which order?

Language Learning Forum : General discussion Post Reply
12 messages over 2 pages: 1 2  Next >>
Julie
Heptaglot
PolandRegistered users can see my Skype Name
Joined 6691 days ago

1251 posts - 1733 votes 
5 sounds
Speaks: Polish*, EnglishB2, GermanC2, SpanishB2, Dutch, Swedish, French

Message 1 of 12
09 April 2009 at 1:26am | IP Logged 
Actually, I should be studying French right now, instead of writing posts and thinking about all the great languages I would like to learn one day ;), but having an access to some good language libraries here made me think of what and in which order I'm going to learn after my French immersion.

So far, I've learned English and German. I'd like to master at least a few more languages from Germanic family. I started learning Dutch, which I stopped because of going to a French-speaking country, but which I liked a lot and would like to continue soon. I've never learned any Scandinavian language (doing one or two lessons to see how it's like doesn't count).

I would learn it out of the linguistic interest and I don't really have any preferences about the choice, apart from it being limited to Swedish, Norwegian (bokmal) and Danish. (Icelandic for sure would be fascinating but I can't think of a single situation where I could use it). Speaking one of these languages and understanding other ones would probably be satisfying.

Which language would be the best choice? Is there's any learning sequence for Germanic family you would recommand in this situation? Which learning materials could be good?

I hope these questions don't sound too general - I'm just looking for some inspiration.
1 person has voted this message useful

Kuronue
Groupie
United States
Joined 5787 days ago

45 posts - 45 votes
Speaks: English*
Studies: Japanese

Message 2 of 12
09 April 2009 at 1:48am | IP Logged