United KingdomRegistered users can see my Skype Name
Joined 5871 days ago

9 posts - 9 votes
Studies: Hindi, English*, German, French
Studies: Russian, Mandarin

Message 1 of 15
30 June 2009 at 3:33am | IP Logged 
Hey there,

I recently talked to an English friend who learnt French whilst in Spain - therefore being taught French in Spanish. It seemed like quite an interesting idea, so I got myself a copy of Assimil in French to learn another language.

I've been learning French in high school for about 7 years now and as you would expect from high school French, I'm not fluent, but I like to think I'm at least conversational and could easily get by in France.

Anyway, my question is, have any of you had any experience learning a new language through a language you already know quite well (but isn't your native language)? And do you think it is a good way to focus on two languages at a time?

Thanks,

Kizza
1 person has voted this message useful

Le dacquois
Diglot
Groupie
France
Joined 5442 days ago

54 posts - 69 votes 
Speaks: English*, French
Studies: Spanish, German

Message 2 of 15
30 June 2009 at 10:13am | IP Logged 
I think it's a good idea if you've already progressed to a sufficient enough level to pull it off. I do this with Spanish and German through French. Unless I'm on the Internet I have no access to English written material, not language learning courses anyway, so I just grab whatever I can in French. It's very useful for learning specific jargon and turns of phrase that you wouldn't see otherwise, aside from actually learning another language on top of that.