Account terminated
Groupie
Canada
Joined 5455 days ago

99 posts - 104 votes 
Speaks: English*

Message 1 of 59
14 July 2009 at 9:03am | IP Logged 
How do the Defense Language Institute language courses compare to the Foreign Service Institute courses? Is one better than the other for certain languages?

And how feasible is it to try to mimic the schedule of actual DLI instruction and learn your target language in the same time frame as students at DLI?

Finally, are these pretty much the best, most comprehensive language courses in the world? What I mean by comprehensive is that they aim to take you from absolute beginner to a high level of fluency if you complete the course (unlike most commercial courses, which will only take you to advanced beginner level or maybe intermediate level)?

1 person has voted this message useful

Splog
Diglot
Czech Republic
anthonylauder.c
Joined 5450 days ago

1062 posts - 3263 votes 
Speaks: English*, Czech
Studies: Mandarin

Message 2 of 59
14 July 2009 at 11:19am | IP Logged 
DLI courses are primarily for the military. You will learn how to say "The enemy tanks are approaching our trenches" and the like.

The FSI courses are primarily for diplomats. You will learn how to say "The American ambassador has a reception this evening in the ballroom" and so on.

In terms of "are they the best". Well, they are certainly the best value (i.e. free - if you can find them in the language that interests you). However, they are often rather boring - which may prevent you from completing them.

They can certainly take you from "absolute beginner" but not to the "high level of fluency" you mention. Once you are at intermediate level, it is usually more profitable to turn to native materials (such as books, TV, radio, and real conversations).

Edited by Splog on 14 July 2009 at 11:21am

4 persons have voted this message useful

dmg
Diglot
Canada
dgryski.blogspot.comRegistered users can see my Skype Name
Joined 6792 days ago