Diglot
United States
Joined 5786 days ago

220 posts - 323 votes 
Speaks: English*, Mandarin
Studies: Cantonese, Polish, Spanish, French

Message 33 of 55
17 October 2009 at 9:49pm | IP Logged 
For the love of god and everything that is holy -- I beg you not to go through with the frequency list method. It was my FIRST instinct when I started learning a language for the first time 9 years ago, and I held on to the idea (which I now believe to be extremely mistaken) for 7-8 years. When I become literate in my 4th language (it's going to be a while longer) I'm planning to write a comprehensive document describing my grasp of what 'language acquisition' entails, and one of the first things I will say it does not entail is "scientifically" tackling the process by memorizing high frequency words with an SRS. It is painful, demoralizing, and extremely time inefficient (contrary to what we both expected when we came up with the idea, I'm sure!):

You'd do well to reread doviende's replies a few times.

Demoralizing aspects:
(1) Words that you just can't remember come up more and more frequently and make you more and more irritated because you have no idea why such a word is within the most frequent 1000 (different languages have different and surprising ways of expressing things, and if you aren't "needing" the word from encountering it in authentic speech or text, you aren't going to know why the word is special or important). Or it SEEMS like a word which you just have no use for and don't care about -- even though you would naturally start caring if you were encountering it in an authentic text and realizing it is INDEED useful.