Triglot
New Zealand
Joined 6075 days ago

851 posts - 1074 votes 
2 sounds
Speaks: English*, German, French

Message 1 of 14
27 October 2009 at 2:20pm | IP Logged 
I presume there are a few people around here who are contemplating or actively working towards "mastering" Chinese, Japanese, Korean and possibly also Vietnamese. My question for this thread is: what would you personally consider the best order to learn at least the first three languages? I'm studying Chinese myself, but am also contemplating the possibility of learning Korean or Vietnamese next and probably Japanese last, assuming I get around to them all!

What order would you want to learn them in?
2 persons have voted this message useful

Sprachprofi
Nonaglot
Germany
learnlangs.comRegistered users can see my Skype Name
Joined 6229 days ago

2608 posts - 4866 votes 
Speaks: German*, English, French, Esperanto, Greek, Mandarin, Latin, Dutch, Italian
Studies: Spanish, Arabic (Written), Swahili, Indonesian, Japanese, Modern Hebrew, Portuguese

Message 2 of 14
27 October 2009 at 2:25pm | IP Logged 
Chinese is probably the best way to start, as the grammar is relatively simple and the knowledge of Chinese characters will make it easier to learn them in Japanese, including the Chinese-derived pronunciations.

It is not advisable to start on something similar while you don't know the first thing well. This obviously applies to Romance languages - don't start on Italian if your Spanish is yet weak. I believe it would also apply to learning characters. Linguistically the CJK languages are different enough that I believe there would be little interference, but if you're learning Japanese Kanji before your Chinese characters are firmly entrenched in your mind, you will probably experience bad side effects. So depending on how soon you want to start on your next language, I'd probably go for Korean or Vietnamese next, to give your Chinese extra time to sink in.

Edited by Sprachprofi on 27 October 2009 at 4:11pm