United States
Joined 5310 days ago

2615 posts - 8806 votes 
Speaks: English*, FrenchB2
Studies: Spanish, Ancient Egyptian
Personal Language Map

Message 1 of 39
15 November 2009 at 6:03pm | IP Logged 
This isn't a regular language-learning technique, such as shadowing, L-R or using an SRS deck, but more a "meta-technique": A technique that helps you use other techniques more consistently. If you already have adequate self-discipline, this story probably won't interest you. But if you tend to get half-way through a project and then move on to something else, you might find these tricks useful.

I was inspired by two stories:
  1. Steve Pavlina's 30 days to success
  2. The Seinfeld calendar
I studied several foreign languages in school, with predictably poor results, and tried to learn Italian on my own. When I studied Italian, I made it about 2 weeks into the course, and wound up with a nice accent and a ~100-word vocabulary. This was useful when traveling, but a bit limiting. My study skills, in other words, were well-suited to the length of a school term, but I never really had the sheer endurance required to learn a second language.

One day, however, my wife asked me to learn French. It's her native tongue, and we had already decided to raise our children to be bilingual. I was not an ideal candidate for success: I was already past the age of 30, and I had never actually learned a foreign language.

But I did have some real motivation, and I had recently read the two articles mentioned above. So I decided to give it a shot. I marked out 30 days on my calendar, and I promised to myself that I would study an Assimil lesson every day. I listened to each lesson about 10 times (until it clicked), and I did the exercises. This took about 20 minutes.