Joined 6220 days ago

4474 posts - 6726 votes 
Speaks: English*, Esperanto, German, Italian
Studies: French, Finnish, Mandarin, Japanese

Message 10 of 39
16 November 2009 at 11:45pm | IP Logged 
emk wrote:
Volte wrote:
I tried this for studying 6 languages at once - most via Assimil - a couple of years ago;

Impressive! But 6 languages every day is an enormously difficult goal, and it will completely eat your life. That might be perfectly OK for some folks, or during a Total Annihilation Challenge. But I've never been able to usefully keep 6 daily tasks going at a time; I always end up whittling one or two of them down to a token commitment just to stay sane.

For example, I've been doing this for more than two years, and I'm currently experimenting with a fairly heavy load. Right now, I have two different commitments for French (general study and SRS), one for exercise, one for keeping a GTD task list up to date, and one for a programming project. The first three are doing great, but I can't devote enough time to the other two. So later this week, I'll probably drop the programming project, and set a higher minimum bar for the GTD task list.

But when I started out, I couldn't have done all this. I could only handle a single task, and that was a huge stretch. If you've never tried to make a daily commitment before, make one, and keep it to 20–40 minutes. After you've done that for a month or two, you can consider adding a second commitment.

It actually wasn't that difficult or life-eating; I had a list of quite a lot of other things I was doing on a daily basis as well, and the language part took two hours/day if I was pressed for time, and up to 3 or so if I wasn't.

The problem was that it made language learning into unpleasant drudgery - it was effective, but I grew to dislike it more and more with each passing day, and so I stopped. I find no point in having a hobby I loathe.

1 person has voted this message useful

emk
Diglot
United States