Tetraglot
Japan
Joined 5249 days ago

772 posts - 1474 votes 
Speaks: English*, Japanese, German, Russian
Studies: Georgian

Message 154 of 431
05 September 2010 at 10:29am | IP Logged 
Came down with tonsillitis this week, which wasn't much fun. I am no doctor, but I'm
sure the awful, exhausting, endless heat and humidity here in Tokyo is weakening my
immune system or something. Anyway, I decided I was going to ignore the tonsillitis
and, stuffed to the gills with painkillers, I rode my bike five miles each way in 3
million percent humidity and 75 degrees centigrade to my lesson with Medea on Thursday.
It was a great lesson. I understood so much more of what she was talking about and was
slightly less hesitant and slightly more fluent when I spoke.

Unfortunately I paid for my dedication over the weekend, which I spent in agony,
exhausted, unable to swallow, and just downright miserable. I dragged myself to the
doctor, got some antibiotics and some steroids for good measure, missed the first
Saturday Georgian class after the summer break, and am just starting to feel human
again now, on Sunday evening.

I am not religious at all, but I am praying to anyone who will listen for some rain and
maybe just one or two days under 35 degrees!
1 person has voted this message useful

Jon1991
Groupie
United Kingdom
Joined 5150 days ago

98 posts - 126 votes 
Speaks: English*
Studies: Spanish, French, Russian

Message 155 of 431
07 September 2010 at 8:47pm | IP Logged 
I've been reading your log and I must say that I'm impressed with your easy going approach to language learning as you really seem to enjoy it and even the fact that you're studying Georgian shows that you have a strong interest in languages.

Your exactly the kind of language learner I look up to, especially considering that you can speak Japanese, German and Russian (Russian is my favourite language, although I have had to make do with studying Spanish and French at University when I start this month)