United States
Joined 5076 days ago

20 posts - 24 votes
Speaks: English*, Japanese
Studies: Georgian

Message 281 of 431
22 December 2011 at 3:21am | IP Logged 
Orandajin,
I'm also studying Georgian and will be in Tbilisi this summer. Could you send me the name and contact
information for that Georgian teacher? Thanks.
1 person has voted this message useful

TixhiiDon
Tetraglot
Japan
Joined 5246 days ago

772 posts - 1474 votes 
Speaks: English*, Japanese, German, Russian

Message 282 of 431
27 December 2011 at 11:53am | IP Logged 
The other day, as I occasionally do, I input "Georgian" into the search bar of Amazon
to see what came up, and I discovered that George Hewitt's infamous textbook is
available in a Kindle version. I promptly bought it (pretending I hadn't noticed the
65 dollar price tag) and downloaded it onto my iPad, so now I am working through it,
exercises and all, right from the beginning.

Hewitt takes quite a different approach to learning Georgian to Aronson and Kiziria,
and because of that I have been able to clear up some questions that had been bothering
me for ages about really straightforward grammar points. For example, YES some verbs
use the future form for the present tense, YES some verbs that are clear in meaning in
the future and past tenses due to the addition of the preverb simply remain ambiguous
in the present and imperfect where the preverb is not used, and YES some verbs with ი
as the version vowel are inherently subjective, whereas others, such as აღვიძებს and
იღვიძებს (to wake someone up and to wake up) form a perfect neutral/subjective version
pair.

It's true that his writing is almost impenetrably dense, filled with grammatical terms
that would baffle a beginner or an inexperienced language learner, and his dialogues
are completely ridiculous without even an attempt at authenticity, but I can just about
handle the grammatical terminology, and as long as I take the dialogues with a large