Canada
microsnout.wordpress
Joined 5230 days ago

277 posts - 553 votes 
Speaks: English*
Studies: French

Message 1 of 46
12 February 2010 at 7:45am | IP Logged 
This is my learning log for 2010 and beyond.

The TAC 2014 section will begin on page 6.

I have been studying French for just over 3 years now and believe I am somewhere between intermediate and
advanced - classified as B1 by a school in Montpellier France last Feb.   Fairly advanced in grammar knowledge,
reading and writing skills but still stuck at intermediate in speaking and listening. This started for me as mainly a
winter passtime, something to do from Nov to Mar when my sailboat is out of the water.

To summarize the past three years:

Motivation:
I chose French because it is an official language of my country, because of the huge amount of resources available
nearby, because I wish to voyage up the Saint Laurence river in my sailboat right through the heart of Quebec, and
finally because my home town in northern Ontario is now more than 60% francophone. This is my first attempt to
learn a language and I really don't think I would have been able to stick with it this long without these strong
motivating factors.

Initial Steps:
I started with self study using the Living Language Ultimate package and followed that with 4 weeks at a language
school in Montreal and then several week long courses at the Alliance Française (which I will hereafter refer to as
AF). Disappointed by the rate of progress I tried to throw money at the problem by taking private lessons with an
instructor I met at AF. In this way I learned that neither a classroom nor a private teacher can teach me a language
efficiently. I then took control of the process myself and utilized a plethora of resources - internet, radio, tv, travel,
books, and even the occasional AF class and private tutor with self study making up at least 80% of the time. This
has worked much better.

Vocabulary: