United StatesRegistered users can see my Skype Name
Joined 5210 days ago

616 posts - 725 votes 
Speaks: English*
Studies: Spanish

Message 9 of 12
15 March 2010 at 4:58am | IP Logged 
Stratosphere wrote:
How long would it take me to learn it my self if I studied for about an hour a day? How close is it to Latin?
It's not close to Latin at all, they come from different families. Obviously Latin is in the Romance family (started the Romance family) and OE is Germanic.
1 person has voted this message useful

Volte
Tetraglot
Switzerland
Joined 6227 days ago

4474 posts - 6726 votes 
Speaks: English*, Esperanto, German, Italian
Studies: French, Finnish, Mandarin, Japanese

Message 10 of 12
15 March 2010 at 7:43pm | IP Logged 
Johntm wrote:
Stratosphere wrote:
How close is it to Latin?
It's not close to Latin at all, they come from different families. Obviously Latin is in the Romance family (started the Romance family) and OE is Germanic.

They have some similarities - Romance and Germanic languages are fairly close branches of Indo-European. They appear different enough that you won't get much transference unless you learn about sound shifts or look for similarities in grammatical patterns - their case systems have some similarities, for instance.

NativeLanguage
Octoglot
Groupie
United States
nativlang.com
Joined 5126 days ago

52 posts - 110 votes 
Speaks: French, Spanish, English*, Italian, Latin, Ancient Greek, Portuguese, Catalan
Studies: Japanese, Mayan languages, Irish

Message 11 of 12
14 April 2010 at 3:38pm | IP Logged 
Stratosphere wrote:
I was wondering how hard it would be to learn to read and write Old English, not necessarily speak it.I'd like to read Beowulf in it's original language.

This depends in part on how quickly you can acquire new languages.