jody
United States
Joined 6024 days ago

242 posts - 252 votes 
Speaks: English*
Studies: Russian, Bulgarian

Message 1 of 3
22 March 2010 at 2:15pm | IP Logged 
I apologize if a similar question has been asked before, but I have a few specific things to add. Please note that I am not attempting to discuss religion in this post. I am only discussing church issues to answer my language learning questions. Please do not reply with religious comments. (Feel free to send any such questions to me privately and we'll discuss there.)

First of all, I am a unilingual American (maybe that's enough said. LOL.) I'm still a beginner in Russian studies, and progressing very slowly. I recently started attending a Ukrainian Catholic Church where they, naturally, speak Ukrainian. How similar, or how different, is this language from Russian? If I continue my Russian studies, will I be helped or hindered by interacting with Ukrainian people and church services?

Next, what kind of Ukrainian is likely to be used in the litergy? Do they use modern Ukrainian, or some sort of old form like Old Church Slavonic or something? And how would this affect my Russian studies?

Finally, when we take communion, the priest says something. In English "Jody, servant of God receives the precious and all holy and most pure Body and Blood of our Lord and God, Jesus Christ for the remission of his sins and for life everlasting." I cannot find the Ukrainian translation, and the priest says it differently than is written in the missal. Anyway, my question is, does anybody how to say this in Ukrainian?

Thanks for all your comments.

Jody

1 person has voted this message useful

jody
United States
Joined 6024 days ago

242 posts - 252 votes 
Speaks: English*
Studies: Russian, Bulgarian

Message 2 of 3
22 March 2010 at 2:16pm | IP Logged