dmaddock1
United States
Joined 5214 days ago

174 posts - 426 votes 
Speaks: English*
Studies: Italian, Esperanto, Latin, Ancient Greek

Message 1 of 14
23 April 2010 at 8:16pm | IP Logged 
Due to the nature of my job (I'm a software engineer), I am able to passively listen to audio with headphones virtually the whole day while I work. I'm wondering what the common wisdom is regarding what I listen to in this way.

Is it better to have a constant stream of new audio that I can't understand at all (eg. radio) or just repeat audio that I can actually understand (eg. Assimil dialogs)? Or does it not matter? Do you think listening like this actually has value?

Lately, I've had some short Esperanto dialogs on repeat, but this can get repetitive after 8 hours. If Helena asks Petro what's in his sack one more time I might go on a rampage! Estas fruktoj Helena!! However, I feel like I get more out of it if I can at least partially follow what's being said.

1 person has voted this message useful

luhmann
Brazil
Joined 5114 days ago

156 posts - 271 votes 
Speaks: Portuguese*
Studies: Mandarin, French, English, Italian, Spanish, Persian, Arabic (classical)

Message 2 of 14
23 April 2010 at 9:41pm | IP Logged 
If your difficulty is listening comprehension alone, that is, if you vocabulary level is high enough that you could understand a transcript, you will probably start understanding the audio input sooner or later.

But if the language is far beyond your level you will learn very little from the audio alone. Learning needs context, passive learning works by filling the gaps. The better you can understand, the more you can learn. Ideally, you should be listening to something that is just a little bit above your level.
3 persons have voted this message useful

Fasulye
Heptaglot
Winner TAC 2012
Germany
fasulyespolyglotblog
Joined 5628 days ago

5460 posts - 6006 votes 
1 sounds
Speaks: German*, DutchC1, EnglishB2, French, Italian, Spanish, Esperanto