100 posts - 145 votes 
Speaks: Swedish*, English, Italian
Studies: Spanish, French, Russian

Message 17 of 47
12 May 2010 at 11:30am | IP Logged 
Solfrid Cristin wrote:
Impiegato wrote:
This is my story:

ENGLISH: I began learning English at the age of 10 (elementary school). I continued studying it for eight years. Later in life I have had university education in English for a couple of years.

FRENCH: When I was 8 I spent a month in France and learnt some vocabulary and pronunciation. I started studying it at the age of 12/13 and continued for six years. Also, I took a university course in European Union French, which contained information on terminology in the fields of economy and law, and debates about the institutions.

SPANISH: I took classes in Spanish for three years in upper secondary school. I also studied it in Spain when I was 20.

RUSSIAN: One year in upper secondary school. This was the most interesting and challenging one. I will probably take up studying it again within a couple of years. However, my goal is primarily to learn what I need for holidays or a short trip there.

ITALIAN: Two years of full-time study at the university.

And in which way did you feel that the languages you allready know help you learning the next one?

My knowledge of French has had a great impact on my possibilities to learn other Romance languages fast, first Spanish and later Italian. Even though I started by learning French and studied it for quite a lot of years, Italian has become the language I consider my third best (after Swedish and English).