Heptaglot
Norway
Joined 5289 days ago

141 posts - 307 votes 
Speaks: Lowland Scots, English*, Norwegian, Esperanto, Swedish, Danish, French
Studies: Polish, Sanskrit, Tibetan, Pali, Mandarin

Message 9 of 18
23 May 2010 at 10:12am | IP Logged 
If you're interested in both, why not learn both? I'm studying Polish at the moment, which is very similar to Slovak, so I know that learning your first Slavic language can feel like an uphill struggle. Much of the grammar, phonology and vocabulary is so unfamiliar...

I'd focus on Slovak, but take a break once in a while and have some fun with Esperanto. I've got a lot out of learning and knowing Esperanto. It's a beautiful, playful language and it really is very easy to learn. You will make progress many times faster in Esperanto than in Slovak, which might help to keep up your motivation for language learning in general and counter some of the discouragement you'll inevitably feel when learning Slovak.

Another benefit of doing both is that you'll find plenty of Slovak Esperantists online. These are people you can be fairly sure will be interested in languages and international communication in general, and I'm sure you'll find many who will be glad to help you with your Slovak.

Best of luck:)
3 persons have voted this message useful

Euphorion
Hexaglot
Czech Republic
Joined 5100 days ago

106 posts - 147 votes 
Speaks: Slovak*, Czech, EnglishC2, GermanC1, SpanishC2, French

Message 10 of 18
23 May 2010 at 10:12am | IP Logged 
Slovak_anglo wrote:
Thanks to all the responses. I probably will learn both eventually. I think I'll probably stick to Slovak and keep working at it. Hopefully I can find some native speakers to help correct me.

D'akujem!

Rado sa stalo :)

Edited by Euphorion on 23 May 2010 at 10:13am

1 person has voted this message useful

Volte
Tetraglot
Switzerland
Joined 6199 days ago

4474 posts - 6726 votes 
Speaks: English*, Esperanto, German, Italian
Studies: French, Finnish, Mandarin, Japanese