Winner TAC 2011 & 2012
Norway
Joined 5084 days ago

4143 posts - 8864 votes 
Speaks: Norwegian*, Spanish, Swedish, French, English, German, Italian
Studies: Russian

Message 1 of 77
31 May 2010 at 1:17pm | IP Logged 
I have never been at an AA-meeting, but I have seen so many of them in American films that I feel like I have, and invariably there will be a "I am Judy, and I'm an alcoholic" scene.

So I thought we could follow that pattern and use it to introduce ourselves, and see who of us are doing Russian - and a what level.

When we gain enough confidence, we could even start posting in Russian - as is the intention with this room :-) Anyway, here goes:

Origin and level
I am Norwegian, and have tried to learn Russian since March (after two previous failed attempts). I do not even know how to decribe my level - it is not complete beginner, even though I still struggle with the Russian letters, but I am at a very basic level. My main problem is that with a full time job and a lot of family commitments I do not have any free time. I therefore do the bulk of my studying on the train to work (a 10 minutes ride), walking to and from the train and while I do my housework or gardening. I listen to Russian quite a lot, but I never get time to actually sit down and do any proper studying.

Reason for studying Russian
Through my work I deal with an international organisation which is Paris based, and where so far only German, English and French have been official languages. Now Russian is being used more and more, partly because Russia has become a member, and partly because several Eastern European members speak only Russian and their own language.

I also have Russian speaking friends in Ukraine, and I want to be able to communicate with them. And of course, after having studied the language for a little while you just want to learn it because it is fun.

Main linguistic challenges