United States
ipracticecanto.wordp
Joined 5307 days ago

92 posts - 121 votes 
Speaks: English*
Studies: Cantonese, Italian

Message 1 of 8
27 June 2010 at 1:01am | IP Logged 
I just started learning Italian and noticed the formal "you" is "Lei" and "she" is "lei". In German, the formal "you" is "Sie" and "she" is "sie".

I never thought this was strange when learning German, I had just thought it was a coincidence or that the two words were homophones.

But now that I see the same pattern in Italian, I wonder if it is intentional? And the same doesn't hold true for French or Spanish, so this isn't a Romance-language thing?

Did Italian borrow this pattern from German, or is it just a coincidence, and the words "you" and "she" just happen to be homophones in both languages?
1 person has voted this message useful

Levi
Pentaglot
United States
Joined 5384 days ago

2268 posts - 3328 votes 
Speaks: English*, French, Esperanto, German, Spanish
Studies: Russian, Dutch, Portuguese, Mandarin, Japanese, Italian

Message 2 of 8
27 June 2010 at 2:52am | IP Logged 
Well, there is kind of a parallel with Spanish, in that Spanish also uses the third person to show politeness. "Sie sprechen" in German and "hablan" in Spanish are both ambiguous, meaning either "they speak" or "you (formal) speak" (formal plural in Spanish).

Edited by Levi on 27 June 2010 at 2:55am

Bao
Diglot
Germany
tinyurl.com/pe4kqe5
Joined 5583 days ago

2256 posts - 4046 votes 
Speaks: German*, English
Studies: French, Spanish, Japanese, Mandarin

Message 3 of 8
27 June 2010 at 3:23am | IP Logged 
German: It's not 'she' it's 'they'.
This becomes obvious when you look at the verb tenses used with that form.

indiana83
Groupie
United States
ipracticecanto.wordp
Joined 5307 days ago

92 posts - 121 votes 
Speaks: English*
Studies: Cantonese, Italian

Message 4 of 8
27 June 2010 at 4:04am | IP Logged 
Bao wrote:

Oh, sorry, I misremembered then. I haven't studied German in five years.