United States
Joined 4455 days ago

53 posts - 80 votes 
Speaks: Tagalog*, English
Studies: Korean
Personal Language Map

Message 25 of 35
02 March 2012 at 6:34am | IP Logged 
"Anak" also means "child" (as in offspring) in Tagalog.
"Bahagi" means "to share" in Tagalog, and to a certain extend, "to divide" as well.
1 person has voted this message useful

Sprachgenie
Decaglot
Germany
Joined 5487 days ago

128 posts - 165 votes 
Speaks: German*, Dutch, Swedish, Danish, Norwegian, Faroese, Icelandic, Flemish, Persian, Swiss-German
Studies: English, Belarusian

Message 26 of 35
02 July 2012 at 10:59pm | IP Logged 
ALS wrote:
brian91 wrote:
Thanks, Eric.

Something that put me off was this quote from the antimoon.com forum about the difficulty of Indonesian:

"I hate to contradict all of you, but you are misguided. I am a professor of linguistics and Southeast Asian
Languages at the University of Michigan (Flint). Indonesian (and Malaysian) are very difficult to learn and perfect
due to the wmsp-sweep grammar rule."

Is this guy joking? What is the wmsp-sweep grammar rule? :D

I suspect he's full of it or didn't name this 'wmsp-sweep grammar rule' correctly. A lot of Google searching doesn't come up with anything about that, in fact the only two relevant searches are that Antimoon comment and this website. Obviously though I'm no expert in Indonesian, so perhaps someone who's more experienced can either explain this mystery rule or denounce it.

I wonder if the professor is in some way or another referring to sweepdecking, which is however a self-study method and not really a rule. I couldn't find anything useful about WMSP either, but I think it could mean something like Writing, Memorizing, Speaking, Practicing. This would be consistent with sweepdecking. I still wouldn't consider that to be a "rule," but it's possible the professor meant that as a general rule to learning Indonesian, one must use WMSP and sweepdecking methods.
2 persons have voted this message useful