Diglot
Australia
Joined 6513 days ago

22 posts - 32 votes
Speaks: English*, Indonesian
Studies: Arabic (classical), Urdu

Message 33 of 35
11 April 2015 at 11:07am | IP Logged 
Hi Brian, go for it, indonesian is a satisfying language to learn.At the standard level it is
regular and you have a very logical verb system. It has been taught and learnt for centuries
by foreigners so you will love it. I recommend you use this course which has no competitors
in regard to format and quality. It has been put together by 2 respected indonesian language
teachers and as an Indonesian language teacher I often refer to this course in my teaching.It
is also free ( a rare commodity these days, something which is real quality being offered for
free).

ipll.manoa.hawaii.edu/tiw/

You can get by in indonesian on all islands in indonesia, malaysia, brunei, south thailand,
parts of cambodia and vietnam which have malay/indonesian communities. In the uk there are
1000's of students who will love the idea you want to learn their language. Good luck!!
5 persons have voted this message useful

Iversen
Super Polyglot
Denmark
berejst.dk
Joined 6485 days ago

9078 posts - 16473 votes 
Speaks: Danish*, French, English, German, Italian, Spanish, Portuguese, Dutch, Swedish, Esperanto, Romanian, Catalan
Studies: Afrikaans, Greek, Norwegian, Russian, Serbian, Icelandic, Latin, Irish, Lowland Scots, Indonesian, Polish, Croatian
Personal Language Map

Message 34 of 35
11 April 2015 at 12:08pm | IP Logged