deej
Tetraglot
United Kingdom
Joined 5125 days ago

31 posts - 38 votes
Speaks: Hindi, English*, Italian, French

Message 1 of 30
31 July 2010 at 12:51am | IP Logged 
Hi, I've just joined this forum and am a very keen linguist.

I currently 'speak' 9 languages-that is, I have some knowledge of 9 though I would have
serious trouble speaking half of them well.

I love languages and would really like to improve upon the ones I have already learnt
as well as many more; I would like to speak maybe 15 to 20 languages at least by the
time I die/grow old.

Therefore I wanted to ask the following questions:

1. Is it possible(realistically) for everyone to speak 20 lanaguages or more?
2. How difficult would it be? Next to impossible or manageable but with considerable
effort?
3. How might it work? By this I mean that I doubt I am going to ever be able to have 20
languages at my fingertips so is it likely that I would only be able to speak them
after a couple of days of revision or looking through books? If so, this would slightly
ruin it for me.
4. Is there any other advice you would give me?

Thanks very much for any replies.
1 person has voted this message useful

The Real CZ
United States
Joined 5436 days ago

1069 posts - 1495 votes 
Speaks: English*
Studies: Japanese, Korean

Message 2 of 30
31 July 2010 at 3:45am | IP Logged 
You can become conversational in 20 languages (search people like Moses McCormick) but advanced/native fluency in 20, no. Unless you live for 150 years or so.

zamie
Groupie
Australia
Joined 5040 days ago

83 posts - 126 votes 
Studies: German, Modern Hebrew

Message 3 of 30
31 July 2010 at 4:12am | IP Logged 
Deej, your goal is attainable, but only if you dedicate your life to learning languages.
If you were to live in these 20 countries for at least one year each, and made an
obsessive effort to learn the languages, then by 20 years you'd have completed your goal.
Also after the 20 years you would need to practice weekly just to retain them.