leosmith
United States
Joined 6353 days ago

2365 posts - 3804 votes 
Speaks: English*
Studies: Tagalog

Message 1 of 17
28 August 2010 at 10:01am | IP Logged 
(warning - this is a codeine toothache induced poll; sorry if I ramble)
I'm interested in knowing what everyone thinks the minimum number of hours per year is, on an average,
required to learn a language to basic fluency as defined by this forum. By "hours" I mean total number of study
hours, which includes reviews, watching TV, movies, listening to music as well as more traditional study methods.

Let me try to explain why I'm curious. Lets say that approximately 1000 hours are required to learn Spanish. I
believe that if I study 20 hours a year for 50 years, I won't become fluent. That's probably not even enough to
reinforce itself and keep from being forgotten. On the other hand, I'm certain that 200 hours a year for 5 years is
plenty. It might not be optimum, but that's another story.

I'm studying 5 languages right now, 3 of which are below basic fluency. I know approximately how many hours I
can put in, and I'm curious to see how many more languages I can add. My reason for studying several languages
at once is that I seem to require several years for language to seep into my brain, even if I put in a very high
number of hours per year.
1 person has voted this message useful

crackpot
Triglot
Canada
Joined 6104 days ago

144 posts - 178 votes 
Speaks: English*, French, Spanish
Studies: Italian

Message 2 of 17
28 August 2010 at 2:56pm | IP Logged 
I agree that it takes in the range of 1000 hours to learn Spanish.

200 hours per year is about 4 hours per week. I voted for other because I find that I
need about 10 hours per week to improve at anything approaching a noticeable rate.

Everyone knows best how they themselves learn, so I'd say do what works for you. Having
said that, I prefer to get the hours in more quickly. I learned French in 1.5 years. I